I MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 32

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio
A. R. Unpingco

Edward J.B. Calvo

Tina Rose Muña Barnes
Frank F. Blas, Jr.
James V. Espaldon
Mark Forbes
Judith Paulette Guthertz
Frank T. Ishizaki
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
R. J. Respicio
David L.G. Shimizu
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to *Gef Pa'go Chamorro* Cultural Village on its Fifteenth (15th) Anniversary celebration and fourteen (14) years of hosting the *Fiestan Dinana' Minagof Chamorro* Dance Festival and to commending the *Gef Pa'go* Board of Directors and staff for their hard work and contributions.

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
2	MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
3	WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village was established in the
4	Municipality of <i>Inarajan</i> in 1992, and was dedicated to the preservation of the
5	Chamorro culture; and
6	WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village gives its visitors a taste
7	of life on Guam before the advent of western civilization through a display of
8	traditional activities such as cooking, weaving, dancing and dialect; and
9	WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go, together with Pa'a Taotao Tano,' has worked
10	throughout the years to promote performances that depict the Chamorro
11	culture; and
12	WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go will be celebrating fourteen (14) years of hosting
13	the Fiestan Dinana' Minagof Chamorro Dance Festival, which means 'Happy
14	Gathering' in the Chamorro language; and
15	WHEREAS, Fiestan Dinana' Minagof Chamorro Dance Festival is a
16	friendly competition where participants can demonstrate their dance skills,
17	cultural knowledge, and language practices through dance movements,
18	costumes and ornaments; and
19	WHEREAS, the Inarajan Municipal Planning Council and the Honorable
20	Franklin M. Taitague, Mayor of Inarajan, work with Gef Pa'go to organize
21	traditional games such as fishnet throwing, coconut husking and grating, and
22	tuba drinking; and

1 WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village has built a foundation

2 to showcase, teach and preserve the *Chamorro* culture for many years to come;

3 and

6

13

14

17

19

23

4 WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village, Pa'a Taotao Tano,' the

5 Inarajan Municipal Planning Council, and Mayor Franklin M. Taitague ask

island residents to join the festivities scheduled for February 10th and 11th,

7 2007, at the Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village, Inarajan; and

8 **WHEREAS**, this will mark the Fifteenth (15th) Anniversary celebration

9 of the Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village and the Fourteenth (14th)

10 Anniversary of hosting the Fiestan Dinana' Minagof Chamorro Dance Festival;

11 now, therefore, be it

12 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na

Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the

people of Guam, recognize Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village on its Fifteenth

15 (15th) Anniversary celebration; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of I Mina' Bente Nuebi Na

Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the

18 people of Guam, commend Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village on its

Fourteenth (14th) Anniversary celebration of hosting the Fiestan Dinana'

20 Minagof Chamorro Dance Festival; and be it further

21 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ñuebi Na

22 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the

people of Guam, further commend Pa'a Taotao Tano', the Inarajan Municipal

24 Planning Council, the Honorable Franklin M. Taitague, Mayor of *Inarajan*, Gef

- Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village Board of Directors and staff for their hard 1
- work and contributions; and be it further 2
- 3 RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 4
- hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Cathy S.N. 5
- Flores, Chairwoman of Gef Pa'go Chamorro Cultural Village; to Mr. Francisco 6
- Rabon, Creative Director of Pa'a Taotao Tano'; to Mr. Joshua Tenorio, 7
- 8 Chairman of *Pa'a Taotao Tano'*; to the Honorable Franklin M. Taitague, Mayor
- of *Inarajan*; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*. 9

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 9TH

DAY OF FEBRUARY 2007.

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature